It’s My One Year Anniversary On Medium

Deep diving into the details of my first year on the platform.

Jillian Amatt - Artistic Voyages
10 min readJan 31, 2023
Photo by Gift Habeshaw on Unsplash

I actually joined Medium on January 15th, 2022, but since I didn’t submit an article until the 31st, I’ve decided to hold off on posting this until now. This, to me, is my real one-year celebration.

I call the first 2 weeks research and development.

It amazes me how quickly life can change. One year ago I was feeling like I was spinning my wheels with not much direction. I felt like I was out here on the planet aimlessly floating around. I dabbled in all sorts of different ways to make money, but nothing made complete sense. At least, none of it made sense in comparison to how much Medium makes sense.

I originally heard about Medium from a YouTube video that I was watching. In it, the guy talked about his different streams of income as a nomad. Medium was the last item on his list, and he barely gave it any attention. But I heard him say that he earned “roughly one hundred dollars per month for his writing,” and that was enough to pique my interest.

I figured that if he could make one hundred dollars per month, then surely I could as well.

--

--

Jillian Amatt - Artistic Voyages

I seek new experiences and share my life as an artist, traveler, foodie, gardener, and serious steward of our beloved planet. Life is short, let's get busy!